Hydaelyn Role-Players
Roleplay Combat - Printable Version

+- Hydaelyn Role-Players (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18)
+-- Forum: Community (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18/forumdisplay.php?fid=8)
+--- Forum: RP Discussion (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18/forumdisplay.php?fid=13)
+--- Thread: Roleplay Combat (/showthread.php?tid=5334)

Pages: 1 2

Roleplay Combat - Ninian Lune'ciel - 11-02-2013

Hey, everyone. I've been stalking these forums for a long time now (In the creepiest fashion possible), but this is my first time posting. To keep this all short, I'm a roleplayer from Gilgamesh and I've been considering beginning a sort of arena styled combat roleplay, opening to fighters and spectators a like. With that said, there is a point or two I wanted to get a few second or third opinions on, so I thought I'd ask the community.

Though I have all of my write ups complete and I'm pretty experienced in running these types of rps, I've yet to see any kind of in character combat in Final Fantasy. Therefore, I wanted to ask how everything thinks in character combat should flow? Personally, whether rolling or not for the results, I like:

-Having the first person emote their attempted attack.
-Having the second person emote their response to the action, followed by their own attack-attempt.
-Rinse and repeat step two, going back and forth.

It only really works one on one, but that's what I'm pushing for anyway. Even when rolls are involved (using an outside source for FFXIV), I still like people to moderator their own characters under success or failure.

So, what do you all think? What are your methods and ideals? I have a few other concepts I'd like to go over, but I wanted to try and start a bit of a discussion on the topic to try and nail my mechanics down.

RE: Roleplay Combat - K'nahli - 11-02-2013

IG combat always worried me. I felt as though I'd have to limit the strength of my one powerful character should I ever get involved.