Hydaelyn Role-Players
A new person hoping to break into FF14 RP (YAY!) - Printable Version

+- Hydaelyn Role-Players (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18)
+-- Forum: Community (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18/forumdisplay.php?fid=8)
+--- Forum: RP Discussion (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18/forumdisplay.php?fid=13)
+--- Thread: A new person hoping to break into FF14 RP (YAY!) (/showthread.php?tid=9645)

A new person hoping to break into FF14 RP (YAY!) - Nisasi - 01-12-2015

*Loud yelling can be heard from a distance away, after a few seconds a person falls in through the roof of the forums and face plants through the floor below.*

Overshot it!

*Pattering footsteps can be heard as the OP makes her way back to the thread door, yes this thread has doors.*

Ok! So! As stated in my thread title I am new to FF14, well ok not new I played it ages back when it first came out on the PS3, but gave it up for a time and now am picking it up again. Anyway, I am very interested in getting into the RP side of things in this game. I have already returned to my character on Balmung but I just can't quite seem to break into RP properly for whatever reason.

Hence why I am here! If anyone is able to help me get started I'll be very grateful.

RE: A new person hoping to break into FF14 RP (YAY!) - SerialX - 01-12-2015

Welcome back, and good luck! 
One request though: Please leave the roof intact in the future. It's going to rain soon.

RE: A new person hoping to break into FF14 RP (YAY!) - Volk - 01-12-2015

It's so daunting to get started! I know the feeling! I will offer a few tips that really helped me to cut my teeth in the community.
  • Create a solid character concept/foundation. Make sure not to pidgeon-hole yourself to one singular aspect of RP or you may experience a nasty lull when things go quiet! Find that fine line between vague and specific!