Hydaelyn Role-Players
RP Questions! - Printable Version

+- Hydaelyn Role-Players (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18)
+-- Forum: Community (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18/forumdisplay.php?fid=8)
+--- Forum: RP Discussion (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18/forumdisplay.php?fid=13)
+--- Thread: RP Questions! (/showthread.php?tid=6910)

RP Questions! - Haruka - 04-12-2014

So I had a few questions about Role-Playing as I'm still learning some about it. 

1.) Is it dumb to have a song that is played during certain moments within the RP? For instance, like when Cloud lost Aerith from a stabbing by Sephiroth. Maybe have a sad song play. I tend to listen to certain songs throughout my adventure.

2.) If I'm in a battle and suffer damage like a cut to the leg, could I take a step further and limp for example? Or if I was knocked out, maybe lay in a bed for a bit to recover.

3.) Would Role-Playing solo be encouraged by RPers alike around me? 

4.) God-Modding is a definite no no correct? lol Isn't that like when people practically make up the actions by themselves for other characters? Is there ever a time when that kind of action is permitted? 

I'd totally appreciate any help! And would also love to make some new friends! Thanks!

RE: RP Questions! - Melkire - 04-12-2014

1. Not dumb at all. I have entire playlists for when I'm PvEing/RPing and have grown tired of listening to the monotonous BGM (save for Titan's theme <3). Now, if you mean having everyone in an RP session listen to a song as a setpiece... eh, as long as you don't try to force them to.

2. Up to you. If it's feasible that it could happen, go for it! It's your choice what happens to your character.

3. We had a thread on this exact subject today, oddly enough. 

4. "God-modding" is a catch-all phrase commonly understood to mean any occasion where:
  • You are depicting your character as hyper-competent to the point that it breaks people's willing suspension of disbelief.