Hydaelyn Role-Players
What's the best class for me? - Printable Version

+- Hydaelyn Role-Players (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18)
+-- Forum: Final Fantasy 14 (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18/forumdisplay.php?fid=41)
+--- Forum: FFXIV Discussion (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18/forumdisplay.php?fid=12)
+--- Thread: What's the best class for me? (/showthread.php?tid=3363)

Pages: 1 2

What's the best class for me? - Chickpea - 08-07-2013

Hi all!

If any of you have seen my introduction thread, or my other posts, you'll know that I'm completely new to the world of Eorzea. Because of this, I'm feeling...a little overwhelmed, I guess, by all the choices. I'm not used to a lot of these classes. I've tried looking it up with the googles, but I guess I'm still confused what the difference is between jobs and classes?

I plan on playing a Lalafell. I don't like making a bunch of new characters at launch and then jumping from one to the other in an attempt to find one I like - I kinda like getting it right the first time. That said, here's what I'm looking for. Can you help me pick the right path?

- Dragoon looks very interesting, because I loved the character Freya from FFIX. I know this is a terrible thing to base the class on. Is it anything like this? Because she's the only example I have of a dragoon.

- What's the difference between summoners and scholars? I see that they both have access to a pet system, which I like, but I'm wondering what the main differences are.

- I want to stay away from healing classes this time around, but I love ranged dps, that tends to be the most fun for me. 

- I really dig flashy and I really care about my character's outward appearance and clothing options.

Thank you for helping me with this.

RE: What's the best class for me? - shotgunbadger - 08-07-2013

Summoners are ranged DPS, Scholars are healers. It sounds like if you want an Arcanist type you want Summoner (the best class Cool)