Hydaelyn Role-Players
Keepers of the Moon and the Elementals - Printable Version

+- Hydaelyn Role-Players (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18)
+-- Forum: Community (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18/forumdisplay.php?fid=8)
+--- Forum: Lore Discussion (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18/forumdisplay.php?fid=49)
+--- Thread: Keepers of the Moon and the Elementals (/showthread.php?tid=17771)

Keepers of the Moon and the Elementals - rugen914 - 11-22-2016

Hello! I'm new to Balmung and trying to iron out the details of a character concept. I have a question and after some searching I don't think I have seen it answered anywhere, so apologies in advance if this is a retread of a common theme.

The question I have is about Keepers of the Moon living according to their own hunting traditions in the Twelveswood. The Encyclopaedia Eorzea states that Keepers of the Moon reside mainly in the Shroud, and that they live and hunt freely there and have done so for "many years" in conflict with Gridanian law.

My question is... how? If Gridania is able to communicate directly with the Elementals via the Padjal and their laws represent the Elementals' will, then how have the Keepers of the Moon been able to break those laws and live freely in the Shroud without accruing Woodsin? In 1.0 even the Padjal had to, it seems, work pretty hard to keep the Elementals on-board and to keep the Greenwrath from claiming their citizens. I know that the Elementals' will isn't being demonstrated as firmly now following the damage inflicted by the Calamity, but what about before then? Surely the Keepers of the Moon have been living in the Shroud for longer than the past five-or-so years.

Is there any suggestion in the lore that the Keepers have been historically able to keep from ticking off the Elementals? Do they have their own methods of purging Woodsin? Do the Elementals just embrace them as a part of the forest itself? Have I missed an important detail?

What even is up, y'all?