Hydaelyn Role-Players
New to FFXIV-- Looking for character feedback! - Printable Version

+- Hydaelyn Role-Players (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18)
+-- Forum: Community (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18/forumdisplay.php?fid=8)
+--- Forum: Character Workshop (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18/forumdisplay.php?fid=34)
+--- Thread: New to FFXIV-- Looking for character feedback! (/showthread.php?tid=16125)

New to FFXIV-- Looking for character feedback! - Kunatii - 05-12-2016

I'm extremely new to the game but would like to start RPing very soon. I have an idea for a character concept and I just wanted some feedback on its plausibility/acceptability. Also, I have only just started catching up on all the lore, so please correct me if I have made a mistake. I'm always looking to improve and learn more!

Warning: This is long, so I have included a TLDR (a summary) at the end.

So my concept starts with an Ishgardian couple from a lesser noble house, they are married young and have two children together. The eldest child is taken by sickness after 5 years which causes both parents to have a crisis. My character, the husband in this history, becomes obsessed with paying Halone tribute-- somehow thinking that his child was taken from them due to lack of "proper" worship. Because he is so consumed with his own suffering and loss, he fails to realize his wife constantly reaching out to him, trying to ask for support, and comfort. He repetitively denies her, and their younger child, affection and attention; as he is completely consumed by thoughts of helplessness, weakness and just overall loss. He pours every bit of himself into the work he does, thinking that somehow honouring Halone will restore what was lost to them.