Hydaelyn Role-Players
Pertaining to FFXIV lore... - Printable Version

+- Hydaelyn Role-Players (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18)
+-- Forum: Community (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18/forumdisplay.php?fid=8)
+--- Forum: RP Discussion (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18/forumdisplay.php?fid=13)
+--- Thread: Pertaining to FFXIV lore... (/showthread.php?tid=12621)

Pertaining to FFXIV lore... - Bosutar - 07-16-2015

...where would a complete newbie to the game start? n.n;

I just bought the game about, oh, three days ago. Never played it before. I have -some- Final Fantasy gaming experience but nothing like this. Since I'm very excited to get into the RP community (started on Jenova because it was an open realm, but I might swap to Balmung once I get into the game more?) I was hoping you guys might be able to help me figure some things out! 

I decided to make an Au Ra from the Xaela tribe- what does that entail from an In-Character standpoint? Any useful links I could find on their lore, where there from, what it means to be Xaela other than warring tribes?

I have it in mind for her to become either a paladin or a white mage- would either of these work well with an Au Ra; where would they get their training, or would they be welcomed to actually train within the Guilds at this point?

Guess you could say I'm just a bit lost overall where to start on figuring out the Lore and Roleplay of this game, especially pertaining to Au Ras n.n; I'm still sitting on Jenova, (Bosutar Ste'ile is the name) if anyone who Roleplays there wants to poke me in-game, but I heard the main servers were Balmung and Gilgemesh?

TL;DR: Hello community; I'm new to the game! Any pointers on Au Ra Lore and roleplay? Big Grin

RE: Pertaining to FFXIV lore... - Hyrist - 07-16-2015

Well, as a Zaela, you've got a nice start. We'll begin here.

http://forum.square-enix.com/ffxiv/threads/63112-Race-Naming-Conventions?p=3039574&viewfull=1#post3039574