Hydaelyn Role-Players
Slavery in Eorzea - Printable Version

+- Hydaelyn Role-Players (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18)
+-- Forum: Community (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18/forumdisplay.php?fid=8)
+--- Forum: RP Discussion (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18/forumdisplay.php?fid=13)
+--- Thread: Slavery in Eorzea (/showthread.php?tid=12589)

Pages: 1 2

Slavery in Eorzea - Alkaid - 07-14-2015

Hey there guys, even if I'm not on an RP server I still like to come up with a backstory for my characters, even if it's just for my own enjoyment of the game and no one ever really learns it. So in that regard, I have a question!

I'm still rather new to the game and getting to know the world, but I recall in an early Rogue quest you halt some of the slave trade in La Noscea. And that got me thinking, just how common is slavery in Eorzea? Now obviously there's some in La Noscea, since as I said there was a quest to stop it, but elsewhere? Ul'dah in particular seems like the kind of place that'd have it.

Do any quests besides the Rogue line deal with slavery?

RE: Slavery in Eorzea - LiadansWhisper - 07-14-2015

The Arcanist questline deals with the the slave trade in passing.

I honestly can't recall another class or Job quest that does, however.

Oh, wait, it's mentioned in passing in the Astrologian questline.

RE: Slavery in Eorzea - Tumensuns - 07-14-2015

I'm guessing for the most part slavery in Eorzean lands is a bit illegal, so we don't see too much of it. I'm guessing in other lands it'd be a bit more common place, otherwise there wouldn't be much of a slave trade.

Though that wouldn't necessarily stop a wealthy Ul'dahn from owning a slave secretly, or stopping a pirate band based around La Noscea either.

RE: Slavery in Eorzea - Zhavi - 07-14-2015

I'm willing to be (in)voluntary indentured servitude is a thing, too. Little bit easier to pass off as legal if someone is just "working off" a debt. Forcibly.

RE: Slavery in Eorzea - Oroban - 07-14-2015