Hydaelyn Role-Players
RP etiquette question - Printable Version

+- Hydaelyn Role-Players (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18)
+-- Forum: Community (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18/forumdisplay.php?fid=8)
+--- Forum: RP Discussion (https://ffxiv-roleplayers.com/mybb18/forumdisplay.php?fid=13)
+--- Thread: RP etiquette question (/showthread.php?tid=10187)

Pages: 1 2

RP etiquette question - Khoure - 02-19-2015

okay so, I'm brand new to rp, I've always really wanted to give it a shot but never found the time nor chance before. I used to play around with rp on a forum when I was twelve, but in-game rp is a bit different by definition.

I've seen that some people like to rp in /say, especially in the quicksand. I was wondering, if people do that, does that mean it is open for others to join in? For example, the other day two people were talking about their different weapons and the guy mentioned treants, and how having an axe was useful against them. My character, Synglona Eyrinebbwyn, was raised on the sea, with a family of low-level pirates. She's barely ever been on land until now, when she decided to 'test her fate' among other things by becoming an adventurer. She chartered a course straight for Ul'dah on the idea that the gladiator's guild had the closest fighting style to her established 'swashbuckling' swordplay (later she will find rogue's guild to be closer, but by then she will hopefully be an accomplished paladin).

Based on that concept, I realized that Synglona has never seen a Treant, and has only heard vague mentions of 'crazy gridanians using spirits as an excuse for everything' and ridiculously fabricated tales of around the world, picked up at port cities. I wanted to have her jump in and ask something along the lines of "I'm sorry to interrupt, but treants? Living tree monsters really exist!?" but I wasn't sure if that would be okay, or if they would get annoyed at me bumping in out of nowhere.